

# 2015 Health Research Competition Awards Announcement

Research Manitoba & its competition partners are pleased to announce the recipients for the 2015 Competition year

# **OPERATING:** Mid-Career

Dr. Cindy Ellison Department of Pathology (Medicine), Faculty of Health SciencesDr. Sabine Hombach-Klonisch Department of Human Anatomy & Cell Science (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

Dr. Davinder Jassal, Department of Internal Medicine (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

# **OPERATING:** New Investigator

**Dr. Sanjiv Dhingra** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Dr. Christine Doucette** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Dr. Thomas Murooka** Department of Immunology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences **Dr. Kellie Thiessen** College of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences

**Dr. Adrian West** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

Dr. Xibiao Ye Department of Community Health Sciences (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

## COORDINATED Clinical Fellowship

Partnered with: Children's Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba

Dr. Lorine Pelly Department of Pediatrics & Child Health (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

## COORDINATED Postdoctoral Fellowship

#### Funding Partners for these Awards Include:

- CancerCare Manitoba Foundation
- Children's Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba
- Rick Hansen Institute

**Dr. Ahmed Ali** Department of Immunology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences **Dr. Jelena Dordevic** Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences **Dr. Andrea Edel** Department of Human Nutritional Sciences, Faculty of Agricultural & Food Sciences

Dr. Jena Fediuk Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science

**Dr. Kirsten Fiest** Department of Internal Medicine (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences **Dr. Harish Gangadharappa** Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Dr. Jennifer Juno** Department of Medical Microbiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences **Dr. Hardeep Kataria** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

Dr. Ifeoma Okwor Department of Immunology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences
Dr. Ying Peng Department of Immunology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences
Dr. Yingfeng Zheng Department of Biochemistry & Medical Genetics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

# Ph.D. DISSERTATION AWARD

**Aynslie Hinds** Department of Community Health Sciences (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Dessalegn Melesse** Department of Community Health Sciences (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

# COORDINATED Studentship

#### Funding Partners For These Awards Include:

- CancerCare Manitoba Foundation
- Children's Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba
- University of Manitoba Faculty of Graduate Studies
- University of Manitoba College of Dentistry
- Health Sciences Centre Foundation

## <u>PhD Degree</u>

*Crystal May Acosta,* Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Arsalan Alizadeh** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Dhiwya Attawar** Department of Community Health Sciences (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

Ben Bailey-Elkin Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Science

*Vichithra Rasangi Batuwita Liyanage* Department of Biochemistry & Medical Genetics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

David Busolo College of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences

**Stephanie Caligiuri** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Claudyne Chevrier* Department of Community Health Sciences (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Rebecca Dielschneider** Department of Immunology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences **Scott Dyck** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences **Catherine Findlay** Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science *Alyssa Golden* Department of Medical Microbiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences *Laetitia Guillemette* PhD in Applied Health Sciences Program, Faculty of Graduate Studies *Wang Jie* Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences *Sara Johnson* College of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences

**Dustin Kehler** PhD in Applied Health Sciences Program, Faculty of Graduate Studies **Naghmeh Khoshgoo** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

Stephanie Martinez College of Pharmacy, Faculty of Health Sciences

*Leigh McClarty* Department of Community Health Sciences (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Edgard Mejia* Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Wajihah Mughal* Department of Human Anatomy & Cell Science (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Sheila Novek* Department of Community Health Sciences (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Chukwunonso Onyilagha* Department of Immunology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences *Maryam Rahimi Balaei* Department of Human Anatomy & Cell Science (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Nadia Reider* Department of Community Health Sciences (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Glen Lester Sequiera* Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Huiying Wang* Department of Oral Biology (Dentistry), Faculty of Health Sciences *Sidi Yang* College of Pharmacy, Faculty of Health Sciences

## Masters Degree

*Maxwell Burg* Department of Human Anatomy & Cell Science (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Kristyn Campbell* Department of Medical Microbiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences *Alexandra Ciapala* Department of Biochemistry & Medical Genetics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Xinwen Dong* Department of Oral Biology (Dentistry), Faculty of Health Sciences *Nour Eissa* Department of Immunology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Krista Filomeno* Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Colin Graydon** Department of Medical Microbiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences **Christopher Hart** Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*S M Naimul Hasan* Department of Biochemistry & Medical Genetics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Michael Jonasson* Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

Katherine Kenyon Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts

*Natalie Landry* Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Veronica Lau* Department of Biochemistry & Medical Genetics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Erin Mcandrew* Department of Biochemistry & Medical Genetics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Emelissa Mendoza* Department of Immunology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences *Brittany Moyce* Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Michelle Perner*, Department of Medical Microbiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences *Abbas Rezaeian Mehrabadi* Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

*Neilloy Roy* Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

**Billy Vuong** Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences

Yang Xin Zi Xu Department of Internal Medicine (Medicine), Faculty of Health Sciences