Provincial RITHIM Committee (PRC)

The Provincial RITHIM Committee (PRC) is a subcommittee of the Research Manitoba board. The PRC’s primary responsibility is to ensure that the Committee for the Harmonization of Health Impact, Privacy, and Ethics Review (CHIPER) is accountable and independent. The PRC will:

  • Enhance, guide, and support the harmonization of ethics, privacy, and impact review for the RITHIM division of Research Manitoba.
  • Draw upon the experience and knowledge of the stakeholders with expertise in privacy and health research of Manitoba.
  • Is accountable to the Research Manitoba Board of Directors and will provide annual reporting on CHIPER operations to the Research Manitoba Board of Directors, the Minister of Health, Seniors & Active Living, and the stakeholders in the health research community in Manitoba.
  • Report through to the CEO of Research Manitoba in accordance with the RITHIM evaluation plan.

Here is a list of our PRC members:

Chair: Dr. Hani El-Gabalawy
Professor of Medicine and Immunology, Endowed Rheumatology Research Chair, University of Manitoba

Dr. Paul Beaudin
Director, Research and Innovation, Shared Health

Mr. Jason Berry
Director, Cancer Informatics and Innovation, CancerCare Manitoba

Farid Foroud
Associate Vice President, Health and Life Sciences, Western Canada at Global Public Affairs

Dr. Joel Gingerich
Medical Director, Clinical Trials Unit, CancerCare Manitoba

Dr. Terry Klassen
Professor, Canada Research Chair, Max Rady College of Medicine, Pediatrics and Child Health, University of Manitoba

Dr. Nathan Nickel
Associate Professor, Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College Of Medicine, University of Manitoba

Dawson Reimer
Life Sciences Consultant, Commercial and Business Development, BioCiruit Technologies

Ms. Terry Sawicz-Hanesiak
Quality and Regulatory Affairs Coordinator, Research Support Unit, The Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba (CHRIM)

Mr. Dan Skwarchuk
Regional Lead & Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

Dr. Ryan Zarychanski
Professor of Medicine (hematology and critical care) and Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine and College of Pharmacy, University of Manitoba

Ex-officio Members (Non-voting):

Andrea Legary

RM Board Chair, Chief Science and Technology Officer, The Recoup Group

Dr. John Arnett
CHIPER Chair, Professor, Clinical Health Psychology and Ethics, University of Manitoba

Dr. Lindsay Nicolle
CHIPER Chair, Professor, Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases, University of Manitoba

Sharon Klos
PHRPC Chair, Health Information Specialist, Interlake Regional Health Authority