Research Advisory Committee

The Research Advisory Committee (RAC) provides strategic advice and makes recommendations to the Research Manitoba Board on research-related and peer review opportunities and activities. The membership of RAC should reflect the broad experience with research in the health, natural and social sciences, engineering, and the humanities in Manitoba.

Here is a list of our RAC members as of June, 2017:

CHAIR: Dr. Barbara Triggs-Raine. (Research Manitoba Board representative)

Professor Karen Busby, Professor, Faculty of Law, & Director, Centre for Human Rights Research, University of Manitoba

Dr. Patricia Caetano, Executive Director, Provincial Drug Programs, Manitoba Health, Healthy Living and Seniors

Dr. Pourang Irani, Professor, Computer Science, Faculty Science, University of Manitoba; Canada Research Chair in Ubiquitous Analytics

Dr. Josee Lavoie, Professor, Community Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, University of Manitoba; Director, Manitoba First Nations Centre for Aboriginal Health Research

Dr. Carolyn Snider, Professor, Emergency Medicine, Max Rady College of Medicine, University of Manitoba & Manitoba Institute of Child Health (re-appointment)

Dr. Feiyue (Fei) Wang, Professor, Department of Environment and Geography, Clayton H. Riddel Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources; Canada Research Chair in Arctic Environmental Chemistry

Dr. Brian Mark, Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Science, University of Manitoba

Dr. Nicole Rosen, Associate Professor, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts, University of Manitoba

Dr. Samar Safi-Harb, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Faculty of Science, University of Manitoba

Dr. Danny Blair, Professor, Department of Geography, Faculty of Science, University of Winnipeg

Mr. Ray Hoemsen, Executive Director, Research Partnerships & Innovation, Red River College

Dr. Heather Duncan, Associate Vice-President Research and Dean of Education, Brandon University

Dr. Michelle Lobchuck, Associate Professor, College of Nursing, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba; Manitoba Research Chair in Caregiver Communication

Dr. Judy Anderson, Head/Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Manitoba

Ex-officio members (non-voting)
Dr. Sue McClemment (Research Manitoba Board representative)
Dr. Jino Distasio (Research Manitoba Board representative)